Run And Won

November 2021 Election Results

Despite expectedly low voter turn-out, 84 women won election or re-election in local races across South Carolina this fall. That’s 60% of women who ran for office this election cycle! Winners include SC WIL Founder Tina Herbert for Columbia City Council District 1. Win or lose, we commend all the women who ran.

Here’s the full list of female winners in the 2021 fall election cycle. 

Click on column header to sort.

First NameLast NameOfficeAssociated Counties
RobertaAlleyneTown Council, BethuneKershaw
SheliaBaccusCity Council Ward, 01Darlington
DebbieBakerSchool Trustee District, 01Greenville, Spartanburg
ConnieBanksSchool Trustee District, 02Spartanburg
LekeshaBensonCity Council Seat, SenecaOconee
LynnBranyonTown Council, LowndesvilleAbbeville
BarbaraBrownTown Council District, Batesburg-Leesville Dist 1Lexington, Saluda
MaryBrownTown Council, Central PacoletSpartanburg
EricaBrownCity Council District, 06Spartanburg
GlyndaBrysonSchool Trustee District, 04Abbeville
NicoleBulmanSchool Trustee District, 06Spartanburg
AditiBussellsColumbia City Council, At LargeLexington, Richland
LindaButlerTown Council District, 01Lexington
PamCampTown Council, CowpensSpartanburg
LizChristenberryTown Council, McConnellsYork
ShirleyCloptonTown Council, DuncanSpartanburg
CherylCollinsTown Council, AynorHorry
TammyCoxCity Council Seat, LandrumSpartanburg
DeniseDavidsonEasley City Council Ward 2Pickens
AliciaDavisCity Council District, 03Barnwell
KathyDIttemoreCity Council Seat, InmanSpartanburg
DeniseDouglasTown Council, Society HillDarlington
LisaDriverTown Council, LowndesvilleAbbeville
SarahDunnSchool Trustee District, 03Spartanburg
FrancineEdwardsTown Council, SpringfieldOrangeburg
Dorothy DotEvansTown Council 5, Honea Path
LillianFlemmingCity Council District, 02Greenville
AprilFowlerSchool Trustee District, 01Greenville, Spartanburg
KathyFrederickTown Council, West UnionOconee
AmyGoreTown Council Ward 2, ReidvilleSpartanburg
CarolynGroomTown Council, RowesvilleOrangeburg
KellieHarroldCity Council Ward, 06York
BethHelmsCity Council Seat, ConwayHorry
TinaHerbertCity Council District, 01Richland
SusanHolleyMayor, BethuneKershaw
RamonaHudleyTown Council, PatrickChesterfield
HallieHurstSchool Trustee District, 75Spartanburg
TeresaHurstTown Council, CloverYork
CaroleJayroeMayor, GeorgetownGeorgetown
LillieJoeSchool Board District, Florence School District 4Florence
ChristieJohnsonSchool Trustee District, 06Spartanburg
MargieLadsonTown Council District, 02Dorchester
DianeLauritsenMt Pleasant WaterworksCharleston
AgnesLoveMayor, McConnellsYork
TeresaMackCity Council District, 03Darlington
MaryMackTown Council, LamarDarlington
MillieMaloneSchool Trustee District, 53Spartanburg
JosephineMcBethTown Council District, 06Spartanburg
ViolaMcDanielMayor, SwanseaLexington
LynMerchantTown Council Ward 1, PendletonAnderson
ShirleyMitchellTown Council District, Batesburg-Leesville Dist 5Lexington
Jo AnnMooneyTown Council, CordovaOrangeburg
AnnetteMooreTown Council District, SnellingBarnwell
AmyMosesTown Council, CloverYork
AndreaNeira-GregoryCity Council District, 05Aiken
AmiOdomSchool Trustee District, 03Spartanburg
JulieOlenickTown Council, NeesesOrangeburg
CarolineParkerCity Council District 12Berkely, Charleston
ErinPorterCity Council District, 07Lexington
SharonPorterSchool Trustee District, 73Spartanburg
SissyPowellSchool Board District, School District 55Florence
LessiePriceCity Council District, 02Aiken
RosaPrivetteMayor, PatrickChesterfield
ElaineReedCity Council Ward, 02Darlington
SherryRocheSimpsonville City Council Ward 4
JanieSalleyTown Council of SpartanburgSpartanburg
JenniferSeawrightTown Council, SummitLexington
TheresaSextonTown Council District, 03Spartanburg
TracySmithSchool Trustee District, 06Spartanburg
ConnieSmithSchool Trustee District, 02Spartanburg
ReithaStevensonTown Council, CampobelloSpartanburg
SherryTauntonSpartanburg School Trustee District 5-3Spartanburg
RuthieTrippTown Council District, 04Dorchester
AnnieTylerTown Council District, WillistonBarnwell
RoseVarnadoeTown Council, LodgeColleton
AngelaVineyCommissioner of Public Works, SpartanburgSpartanburg
CatherineVoelkerSchool Trustee District, 02Spartanburg
BarbWaldmanTown Council, IrmoLexington, Richland
HannahWelzelTown Council, LymanSpartanburg
JenniferWilliamsTown Council, NorthOrangeburg
AmyWilliamsSchool Board District, 7Pickens
EricaWoodsMayor of LibertyPickens
JanetYearginTown Council, LowndesvilleAbbeville
SarahZimmermanTown Council, Pawleys IslandGeorgetown


November 2020 Election Results

We saw unprecedented voter turnout in the November 2020 election, resulting in record-breaking (and glass-shattering) victories for women across the state and across the country. In South Carolina, 302 women won election or re-election. That’s more than 50% of women who ran for office this election cycle! Winners of those races included Kristin Graziano, the first woman elected to sheriff in South Carolina and Nancy Mace, the first Republican woman ever elected to U.S. Congress from South Carolina.

Here is the full list of female winners in South Carolina.

Thank You To Our Sponsors!