Elected Office

S.C. Women in Leadership encourages women and supportive men to consider running for office at all levels of government or becoming engaged in helping someone you believe to be well-qualified in her campaign. For basic information about what offices are available, their qualifications, how to file and when, refer to the links below. All of the individual levels of government summaries on this page.

View the 2022 Election Calendar here.

Municipal Government
Municipal government is the public administration of cities and towns. There are 271 municipalities in South Carolina with three forms of municipal government authorized: mayor-council; council; and council-manager. Learn about running at the municipal level >>

County Offices
South Carolina has 46 counties with the largest, population-wise, being Greenville and the smallest, Allendale. County government, through elected officials, administers and enforces state laws, collects taxes, assesses property, conducts elections, issues licenses, and records public documents. It also provides parks, libraries, hospitals and a host of other services. Learn about running at the county level >>

School Boards
Want to make sure your local schools are properly operated? School board members are elected in 77 of the state’s 81 school districts, while four districts have members appointed by a county board. Most school board elections are held in November. Learn about running for the school board >>

S.C. House of Representatives
The South Carolina House of Representatives is the lower house of the South Carolina General Assembly, the upper house being the South Carolina Senate. It consists of 124 Representatives elected to two year terms at the same time as US Congressional elections. Learn about running for the S.C. House >>

S.C. Senate
The SC Senate is the upper house of the SC Legislature. It consists of 46 senators each elected from a single member districts for four year terms at the same time as United States Presidential elections. Learn about running for the S.C. Senate >>

Statewide Office
The South Carolina Constitution provides for the separate election of nine executive officers. This is a large number of elective offices compared to most states, which generally give the governor the executive power to appoint members of the cabinet.

  • Governor of South Carolina
  • South Carolina Attorney General
  • South Carolina Commissioner of Agriculture
  • South Carolina Comptroller General
  • Secretary of State of South Carolina
  • South Carolina State Treasurer
  • South Carolina Superintendent of Education

Each officer is elected at the same time as the governor. The separately elected positions allow for the possibility of multiple parties to be represented in the executive branch.

U.S. House of Representatives
South Carolina has seven congressional districts and may have one more following the 2020 census. Each congressional district is comprised of portions of multiple counties. Learn about running for the U.S. House of Representatives >>

U.S. Senate
Each state in the U.S. has two senators, each of whom serves all the people of that state. Learn about running for the US Senate >>

I would like to be listed as a candidate.

Thank You To Our Sponsors!